Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

BOOK LOVERS BOOK CLUB: “GIRLS IN THE STILT HOUSE” BY KELLY MUSTIAN

November 3, 2023 @ 11:00 am - 12:15 pm

Ponte Vedra Beach Branch Book Clubs

This month’s Book Lovers Book Club selection is “GIRLS IN THE STILT HOUSE” by Kelly Mustian

Amazon Summary for Girls in the Stilt House

et in 1920s Mississippi, this debut Southern novel weaves a beautiful and harrowing story of two teenage girls cast in an unlikely partnership through murder—perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don’t Rise.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her hard life on the swamp and her harsh father. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she’s holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see in Ohio.

As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

The titles are chosen by the Adult Services Librarian for the Book Lovers Book Club represent an array of genres, new and longtime authors, and a variety of viewpoints all in the spirit of encouraging lively discussion! These monthly selections, including this month’s book, are available for checkout with a SJCPLS library card in a variety of formats, both physical (via SJCPLS’s catalog) and downloadable (via Overdrive). All adults are invited to join the Book Lovers Book Club!  No RSVPs are required. Please call us at our Library at (904) 827-6950 with any questions you may have.

After each meeting, several Book Club attendees (“The Lunch Bunch”) go out to lunch together at a nearby restaurant to enjoy further discussion and opportunities to build friendships. All Book Club attendees are invited and very welcome to participate in these gatherings anytime it works for you!

Thank you to the Friends of the Ponte Vedra Beach Branch Library for generously sponsoring our library’s Book Lovers Book Club.

Details

Date:
November 3, 2023
Time:
11:00 am - 12:15 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,

Organizer

Ponte Vedra Beach Branch
Phone
(904)827-6950
Email
libpv@sjcfl.us
View Organizer Website

Location

Ponte Vedra Beach Branch
101 Library Blvd.
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
(904) 827-6950
View Location Website
St. Johns County Public Library System